OTL201 Post 2

-describe the ways in which your introductory post should have enhanced social presence in a course that you teach,
=identify at least one improvement that you might make in light of what you know about social presence since completing your first post, and
-describe how your thinking about social presence has changed since your first post.

In my introductory post I normally use a voice message along with a few photos of things that make me happy (I usually share a photo of my dog or my pony). The voice message goes a long way, and one day I will post a video message so learners can really get a sense of who I am. I also post my Philosophy of Teaching Statement, and my Principles of Practice so learners get a sense of my teaching practice.

I think I should move to a video message in my Introduction to improve social presence. In another course I teach in Moodle we have a ‘live classroom’ where we meet with video conference. It is a great tool to increase social presence.

I am aware of how social presence can help create a positive learning environment. Brody Close up

2 thoughts on “OTL201 Post 2

  1. Aaaw! Your dog is gorgeous. I have always used audio messages but after reading your post I am wondering if I should try a video introduction as well. I would love to see your video introduction if you decide to do it. I might need to see a few examples before I get over the nerves of doing one for myself. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a comment